Life outside of CCBC? NO WAY!

So, when you’re in college, that’s all you’re supposed to think about, right? School, school, and more school! No social life, no family life… Pretty much no life at all. Does that sound like CCBC? I didn’t think so. One miraculous thing about CCBC is that your life does NOT have to be centered around school. You can center school around your life. I personally love that fact, because I have a life. Surprising, isn’t it? A nursing student with a life. Well, it’s possible, and I’m going to tell you about it right now.

First things first. A very major part of my life is my religion. I’m one of Jehovah’s Witnesses. That’s right – I’m one of those “door-knockers.” And you know what? I love every aspect about it. I am a very active member in my congregation. Much of my life… actually, all of my life… centers around being one of Jehovah’s Witnesses. It’s not just a religion, but it is a way of life. We have regular congregation meetings twice a week, which require preparation and studying, so that takes up a lot of my time. Not to mention we also have special assemblies and conventions a few times a year. I also go out in the ministry a few times a month to preach to all sorts of people about God. While being a Jehovah’s Witness may take up a lot of my time, and completely influence my life, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I am so happy being who I am, and nothing can ever change that.

Another part of my life is my love for pictures and videos. I’m known as “The Girl with the Camera” in the tri-state area. I have boxes upon boxes of photo albums, and a portable hard drive filled with priceless memories. Every time that I go hang out with my friends, or go to a special assembly or convention, or go to any event, I always bring my camera, and I always leave with a lot of photos on my memory card. Not only do I take a lot of pictures, but I edit a lot of videos. I’ve been editing videos under “Cassie Brooke Productions” for about five years now. I absolutely love it. I have directed skits and music videos, and I edit a lot of slideshows and baptism videos. There is something special about editing a video that I can’t really explain; you just have to edit one for yourself to understand. I love watching the videos that I have created, and a lot of the people I know love them as well.

Aside from my religion, photos, and videos, I like to do things that a lot of teenage girls love to do. To put it bluntly, I love to shop. A lot. Lately it has been my weakness, and I really need to stop shopping as much, or my bank account will probably start crying and self-destruct. I also love to hang out with my friends. We like to go to the movies, go out to eat, and pretend we’re killer crabs and attack each other in my front yard (don’t ask—find me on YouTube and see for yourself! *camerasandchocolates*). I also have an unhealthy obsession with a few different things. I am obsessed with The Phantom of the Opera, Grey’s Anatomy, and The Beach Boys. I can also quote Mean Girls word for word, but what girl can’t? Also, when I can find some free time, I love to sleep and read books. One of my favorite books is The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and I’m so excited to see the movie soon.

This is just a glimpse of who I am and a glimpse into my life outside of CCBC. While I still study a lot for school, do my homework, and work on my nursing skills, I find time for my life. It’s possible for anyone to have a life outside of CCBC. College should be a main part of your life, but it shouldn’t be your WHOLE life. Never let that happen. Stay balanced and stay happy, everyone!

-<3 Cassie, student blogger

One thought on “Life outside of CCBC? NO WAY!

  1. Renina says:

    Yes it is very possible to have a life outside of school. The way we’re brought up we know that some things especially our religion comes first. My name is Renina, I am also a nursing student and hope to begin the program after passing the Hesi this Dec/Jan. My sister also attends CCBC and so does my fiance. I am from NJ and I was raised in the truth, and I am currently studying with a Hopewell sister in hopes to get baptized and become one of Jehovahs Witnesses. In fact, we have my studies once a week in between classes at CCBC. I’ve been looking around for other Witnesses who are students and could never find them, well there you are. I have children so there is plenty to do outside of school enough said right.

Leave a Reply

