Balancing College and Work

I knew it would be a challenge, but I knew I could do it. For my first year of college, I only scheduled my classes on Monday Wednesday, and Friday. I only had one class on Friday for two hours, so I considered it my catch-up day. I wanted to keep working because I obviously need money. I work at McDonald’s Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, and Sunday. That might not seem like a hard job, but believe me it is harder than what you think. I also work past my shift on most days, and I do a lot of walking while I’m there. I also take care of customer’s problems; this can be a difficult process especially when the customer is mad. I do get tired, and sometimes I do get overwhelmed. It definitely does get old not having a day off, so I usually try to request one Sunday a month off. It’s not that hard to balance college and school. I try to think about how the future will get better; in fact, one day I will make more money being a nurse, and I will only have to go to work, not school and work.

When going to work and college, you just need to make sure you have self-discipline. Make sure you get your homework and studying done on time, but never forget to give yourself time to go out with your friends or significant other. Since I only have one two-hour class on Friday, right after class, I try to do homework for at least two hours. When I have breaks between classes, I go find a quiet place to do homework or to study. I always make sure to use my spare time wisely. Working and college leaves no time to procrastinate. I am constantly writing a to-do list to make sure I don’t forget to do homework or even to do my laundry. However, I never forget to give myself free time. My free time motivates me to get my school work done so that I can relax. Balancing work and college is a challenge, but you will be able to handle it as long as you use your time wisely.

Emily, student blogger

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

