Balancing Work and School

Balancing college and work is something that I know about all too well! I work at the Windmill, a local ice cream shop and mini golf course in Hopewell. On a normal week, I work 5 days and have 2 days off. I am also taking 16 credits this semester, so it is easy to see how my days can get a little overwhelming when it comes to balancing my schoolwork and my job.

It took me a little bit to get adjusted to a busy schedule- in the summer, I worked but did not take any classes, so it was a lot easier. For me, school is absolutely the most important thing. So, whenever I have my day off during the week I make sure to complete all of my online assignments that way I get them out of the way and am not stressed out during the week. I also take time each day to study for upcoming exams. That way, I know that I am prepared for them so I do not have to cram it all in the night before the test when I get home from work at 10:30. My boss is also extremely understanding, so when we are not busy at the shop, I am able to study and do homework.

Time management is so extremely important; I try my best to balance school, work, and my social life. I try to keep my weekends free and get all my work done during the week that way I can relax and hangout with my friends. If you are responsible and use time management correctly, you will be able to balance all three of those things and get the most out of them, too.

-Liana, student blogger

Leave a Reply

