Adjusting to your first semester

Ah yes, so let’s talk about my transition into college. My transition started before my first semester even started, honestly. I’m an anxious kid, so as summer started to fade and the school ads were back on TV, I started to freak out a little bit. In high school, I was a good student, but I had a warped sense of what would come for me in college. I thought that I wouldn’t have a life because I wouldn’t have enough time to do anything besides study and do work. I was actually getting depressed, seemingly, just thinking about going to college. I wasn’t necessarily sad that I was going to continue my education or anything like that but I was just in a daze of anxiety, I guess you could say.

As stated previously, I’m an anxious kid, so much so that new things can make me really nervous and all that fun stuff. One of the things that I had to adjust to was riding the bus to CCBC every day I had class. Now, to most, riding the bus wouldn’t seem like a big deal, even to me now I don’t think it’s a big deal. But back then, I hadn’t really ridden public transportation too much at all so I wasn’t used to it at all. Of course, once the first day of the semester came around, I was perfectly fine and wasn’t anxious at all.

All my teachers for my classes were pretty awesome and didn’t seem too strict or unapproachable at all. Looking back on my semester, I’m definitely more prepared for my next semester. I’ve made friends that I will be able to talk to all the time and I’ll not forget this semester. I just hope I don’t get too used to being off this Holiday break!
Caleb, student blogger

Leave a Reply

