Balancing college and home life

School, work, homework, family… Sometimes it feels like there is not enough time in the day. Life definitely gets busy especially when you add college to it. However, anyone can handle it! I often find myself overwhelmed with all of my responsibilities, but I always find a way to manage it. Sometimes I feel like I get more done when I’m busy. Anyways, I have a few tricks that I use to keep my schedule on time, and they also help me to stay calm when I am feeling overwhelmed.

First, I try to keep my schedule the same each week that way it is easy to remember what I have to do each day. I have class Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, so I try to work only on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays. I also have to visit four grandparents, so I give them each a day which is usually Sunday and Tuesday. Then I try to give myself a free day on Sundays because everyone needs time for themselves.

Next, I have chores around the house. I have laundry to do, I have a room to keep clean, I have homework, I have firefighter training, and I also take guitar lessons. Sometimes my schedule gets overwhelming, but I try to stay focused and stick to my schedule. I try my best to avoid procrastinating because once you get behind, it’s hard to get back on track.

Everyone has their own tasks to do, and sometimes family doesn’t understand how busy a college student can be. If you need an extra day to get your school work done, don’t be afraid to tell your family. Sometimes you can just  visit your family for a shorter period of time. Always make your schedule work for you.

Balancing college and home life is a challenge. Sometimes you just need to organize your weeks. Make sure you manage your time wisely, and let your family know what you are going through. Try to keep your weekly schedule the same because it may help you to keep track of your time better. College adds a lot of work to your schedule, but it will be worth it one day!

Emily, student blogger

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

