Daily Archives: March 29, 2016

What I Liked About Being a Student Ambassador

I left high school around 2:20. It was a sunny and warm April day. When I got home, I noticed that I received mail from CCBC. I opened it to find a scholarship! I was so excited because I never even expected to receive any type of scholarship. I then learned that I would have to become a student ambassador because of the scholarship. That just meant that I would have to volunteer a total of 60 hours to keep my 2 year scholarship. After I learned that I received the scholarship, I knew that my experience at CCBC was going to be great!

I have loved being a student ambassador. First, we had an orientation, so I got to make new friends a month before school actually started. I also got to take a tour of the school at our orientation which was nice because it prepared me for the orientation of the entire freshman class. I also enjoyed volunteering at events because I was able to meet up with the other ambassadors and talk to them. Also, volunteering at different events allowed me to see some of the other programs that CCBC has to offer! Then, I also got to work with some of the CCBC staff. Working with the staff was great; in fact, they were always very helpful and friendly. I know that if I ever needed help, I could go to any of them. Over all, being a student ambassador was an amazing experience, and I am so thankful I was given the opportunity.

-Emily, student blogger

Tagged , , , , ,

Emails

In high school, emailing never seemed that important to me. Frankly, I never really had to send any important messages and I never received them. My email just seemed like something that I needed to have set up so I could make social media accounts. And on the rare occasions I did send an email, it was almost always unprofessional,sloppy, and full of spelling errors.

But we aren’t in high school anymore. To be successful in a college environment, knowing how to properly contact your peers and teachers through email is important. It may not seem like it, but email is the formal type of electronic communication and as such, composing a proper email is vastly important.

When starting an email always include a simple subject in the available space. Don’t overcomplicate it, it should be short and give the recipient a general idea of what the message is about.

Once you ready to compose the actual body of the message, start off by greeting the recipient. Always refer to them by the most professional title you can and never call them by first name unless specifically asked to. After your greeting, end with a comma and press enter twice to begin composing your message. Try and keep you content here as brief as possible within the means of respectfulness. A lengthy email confuses the information you’re trying to get across.

Once you’re completed, end with a departing remark, add a comma, press enter twice, and leave your full name.

I hope this was somewhat helpful. I’ve included an example below.

Subject: This is an example

Hello Dr. Not Real Person,

I just needed to briefly speak with you about a matter that is completely irrelevant.

What would be the best time to meet with you?

Sincerely,

Also Not a Real Person

 

-Jordan Winston, student blogger

Tagged , , , , , , , ,