Pharmacy Technician Training at CCBC

Monica KempMonica is a current student in the Pharmacy Technician program at CCBC. She is a top student in the class despite having reservations at first about enrolling. Read below for more of Monica’s inspiring story.

Why did you decide to enroll in the program at CCBC?
I graduated with a degree in Biochemistry and Pharmaceuticals from my country, Ecuador. I have not worked the industry for more than 20 years, as I was dedicated to raising my children. As my son and daughter are older now, I decided to go back to work, but many things have changed over the past 20 years, and I had only worked in Pharmaceuticals in my home country of Ecuador, so I also knew there may be many other differences between countries as well.

 
What was your biggest fear about entering the program?
As English is not my native language, one of my biggest fears was if I would have difficulties understanding the language. My professors were very patient with me, and the Student Services Center staff was also very helpful and accommodating.

 

What was your greatest accomplishment as a student in the program?
Through hard work and dedication, I was able to overcome the language barrier, and finished the program at the top of my class.

 

What opportunities have you had as a result of your CCBC education?
As a result of my CCBC education and opportunities, I was offered a full-time position with UPMC Chartwell, only 1 week into my Externship.

 
What are your future plans?
My future plans are to continue with my employment at UMPC, the largest employer in Western, PA, and grow with them to higher levels.

 
Why would you recommend the program to other students?
The Pharmacy Technician program is a great opportunity for people of all ages, and has an excellent placement rate. I highly recommend it. As a middle aged women, from a different country, culture, language, and out of the industry for many years, if I can do it, you can too!

Leave a Reply

