Opening Doors

My senior year of high school flew by with all the events and experiences ending too quickly to even comprehend.  However, the dreaded questions of “post-graduation plans” never had an ending.  The questions of schooling, career choices, and jobs were always sneaking in throughout any conversation or event.  During the last year of high school, seniors say that’s when the chaos begins.  But really, it’s where you experience freedom, and you get to define who you are and want to become.  I knew from the start I wanted to enter the health care field, but I didn’t want to live in a dorm room.  I would rather come home to a familiar place that contained my whole support system, especially with my dogs’ wagging tails greeting me at the door.

Thanks to my guidance counselor, I was directed to the Community College of Beaver County, that has changed my life in so many positive ways.  During my senior year, I was already enrolled in some of CCBC’s college in high school classes.  I also began to visit the college and obtain the information needed to become a student in the Nursing course.  Not only am I currently enrolled in Nursing, but CCBC has also provided me with a scholarship, actually free tuition for two years, due to my academic achievements in high school.  The faculty at CCBC is so caring and helpful.

When I decided to take some summer courses, my professor was absolutely amazing and made class so interactive and interesting.  CCBC has opened new doors that I never thought possible for myself.  My achievements and hard work is recognized, along with the support from all the faculty.  CCBC truly has a unique touch of care that no other place can quite achieve.  The school itself is amazing and the faulty is extraordinary.  I’m excited to say my journey at CCBC has only begun.

Emma, Student Blogger

Leave a Reply

