Balancing College, Work, and Community Management

I see a lot of posts around the Internet about people trying to balance work and school. Let’s face it, having a job while going to college is pretty common; how else can you afford the dip with your chips?

My situation is a little bit different, though. On top of going to college and having a job, I also manage an online community which has an average of 100-400 people online at any given time. This splits up my time even more and puts more pressure on me to be good at time management. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, though. Being able to manage your time well is a good skill to have, and will probably benefit me a lot in the future.
On days that I work, my schedule typically goes something like this: wake up, go to work, come home, check online forums, game, and applications, do some homework, have dinner, check community again, finish homework, go to bed.
When I have classes, it’s somewhat of the same thing, except I usually check the online forums and communications in between my classes and during lunch.
It’s busier, sure, but I wouldn’t trade it away for anything. I love what I do. It puts a lot of stress on me, and it makes sure that I’m good at managing my time, and that I have a good order of my priorities. I think it benefits me more than anything. There have been times where my boss would ask me why my work quality has decreased, so I had to re-evaluate what I was doing and adjust my priorities a little to make sure I got enough sleep. It’s not easy, but I could be in a much worse position, so I am grateful to be where I am.
Leave a Reply

