Break Time!

College can become overwhelming and taking a break doesn’t always get your mind completely off the workload sitting back on your desk. Personally, when I take my breaks, I have to keep my mind occupied or it will wonder back and repeatedly go through a list of my school work. I actually become more anxious, meanwhile my break was meant for me to relax. If you are anything like me, you have to do something in those 10 minutes or you drive yourself insane.

To take my mind completely off school work for that brief period, I usually do some crafts. One activity I usually do is called latch hooks, which are usually in arts and craft stores (like Joann’s or Michael’s). The latch hook kit, that comes with everything except the latch hook tool, can cost between 10 to 30 dollars depending on the size of the canvas. I usually buy a 15-dollar canvas because after they are finished I can sew them onto a pillow, make a small rug, or even hang them on the wall. However, that one project can last me for months because I only work on the latch hook in between study breaks.

The best thing to do is find a simple activity and ONLY use it for study breaks when your mind just can’t stop racing with thoughts. Some people may watch Netflix, but be cautious. If “are you still watching?” comes up on your screen, you have definitely taken too long of a break. In another blog, I will have some more suggestions for break time activities!

-Emma, Student Scholar

Leave a Reply

