Transitioning from Spring to Summer Classes

It’s that time of year again where it’s the end of the semester and you finish all your finals and all you want is to go home and not have to worry about school for a while. For some people, they just get to relax and not have to worry about school for the next three months, but for others, they have to jump right back into it for summer classes. I, for instance, have to jump into summer classes only two weeks after my last final. That is barely any time to relax and “regain strength” for the next set of classes. It is not an easy thing to do, but I have learned after last year of the same experience what to do and what not to do throughout summer. Those things are:

  • In the two weeks that you are off, make time to simply enjoy yourself and do things that you were not able to do throughout the semesters. For instance, I never had time to go hiking, kayaking, and camping throughout the semesters, but through this next few weeks I have simply just gone out with my friends and did just that.
  • I have learned that you really need these two weeks to recoup and regain your mental strength as much as possible and working a bunch of hours will not let you do that. So, if you are able to with your job, request more days off than usual to just have days to yourself and do whatever you want.
  • I love spending time with my family and friends, so through the next two weeks, I am reintroducing myself to them. I have been so busy throughout this school year that I have not had a lot of time to spend with them, so I specifically set aside time to just hang out with them. They always know how to make me relax and be happy too, which is much needed after finals.

Overall, just relax and don’t stress over anything because trust me when I say, you will have plenty of time to do that throughout your summer course.

Leave a Reply

